Governing Body

The Governing body liaises with the Headteacher and staff to develop an effective strategy management process to ensure the school is run in a way which reflects the needs and wishes of the local community.

Targets are set which are appropriately challenging and motivating so that pupils are inspired to learn and to be the best that they can be.

This is all achieved through the structure and implementation of a School Development Plan which ensures a broad spectrum of opportunities for the pupils.

The governing body provides a programme of professional development and support for the staff and empowers the involvement of parents as partners in their childrens' learning.

Governors set and monitor the effectiveness of the budget to ensure today’s money is for today’s children.

Governors measure performance of the school through assessing the ‘value added’ – the measure of pupil learning beyond the expected.


Governing Body Information November 2018


The Instrument of Government states that the Governing Body shall consist of 10 Governors as follows:

2 Parent Governors / 1 Headteacher / 1 Staff / 1 Local Authority / 5 Co-opted Governors

The Governing Body have not appointed any Associate Governors for the Academic Year 2018-19

The Governing Body appointed 2 committees and 1 Review Panel in September 2018 – other appeals committees will be appointed as and when required:

Finance – Meets at twice in the academic year in October and May – to discuss and recommend budget information to the FGB

Pay – Meets as necessary to review whole school pay decisions prior to reporting in fact to FGB

Heads Performance Management Panel – Meets once yearly in October/November and makes a recommendation to Pay Committee regarding Headteacher’s Pay decision.

The Full Governing Body ratifies decisions following recommendation from the committees/panel above (unless otherwise stated in School Policy/Terms of Reference), and all minutes are available in the school office, with the exception of confidential minutes.

Our Governors

  • Chair of Govenors: Marcus Coleman
  • Vice Chair of Governors: Daniel Platts
  • Mrs Rachel Osgodby (Head teacher)
  • Clerk to the Governors: Mrs J Trotter
  • Margaret Newland
  • Dr Sue Cordell
  • Ben Skipper
  • Tracy Keat
  • Rev. Mark Holden
  • Barry Thornton
  • Laura Kenyon (Teacher Governor)

File icon: docx Scheme of Delegation - September 2018 [docx 56KB] Click to download
File icon: docx Terms of Reference - September 2018 [docx 51KB] Click to download